We're unable to sign you in at this time. Please try again in a few minutes.
We were able to sign you in, but your subscription(s) could not be found. Please try again in a few minutes.
There may be a problem with your account. Please contact the AMA Service Center to resolve this issue.
Contact the AMA Service Center:
Telephone: 1 (800) 262-2350 or 1 (312) 670-7827  *   Email: subscriptions@jamanetwork.com
Error Message ......
About This Journal |

About This Journal FREE

Arch Intern Med. 2007;167(7):622. doi:10.1001/archinte.167.7.622.
Text Size: A A A
Published online


Editor: Philip Greenland, MD 680 N Lake Shore Dr Suite 1102 Chicago, IL 60611 Phone: (773) 697-7313 Fax: (312) 503-5388 E-mail: archinternmed@jama-archives.org

Deputy Editors: David C. Goff, Jr, MD, PhD, Winston-Salem, NC Janardan D. Khandekar, MD, Evanston, Ill Patrick G. O'Malley, MD, MPH, Washington, DC Hemant K. Roy, MD, Evanston, Ill

Associate Editor: Robert A. Phillips, MD, PhD, Worcester, Mass

Statistical Editors: Associate: Alan R. Dyer, PhD, Chicago, Ill Assistant: Denise M. Scholtens, PhD, Chicago, Ill

Assistant Editor: Kathleen M. McKibbin, MD, Winnetka, Ill

Editorial Assistants: Sheila K. Kessler, Chicago, Ill Michael J. Kosinski, Chicago, Ill Arawa McClendon, Chicago, Ill


CME: Robert Golub, MD, Chicago, Ill Controversies: Ann B. Nattinger, MD, MPH, Milwaukee, Wis


Charles L. Bennett, MD, PhD, Chicago, Ill JudyAnn Bigby, MD, Boston, Mass Martin J. Blaser, MD, New York, NY Robert D. Brook, MD, Ann Arbor, Mich Mary Cushman, MD, MSc, Burlington, Vt Rodney H. Falk, MD, Boston, Mass Ann R. Falsey, MD, Rochester, NY Elyse Foster, MD, San Francisco, Calif Jeffrey L. Glassroth, MD, Boston, Mass Robert J. Goldberg, PhD, Worcester, Mass Kurt Kroenke, MD, Indianapolis, Ind Henry T. Lynch, MD, Omaha, Neb Mary M. McDermott, MD, Chicago, Ill Carlos F. Mendes de Leon, PhD, Chicago, Ill Bruce M. Psaty, MD, PhD, MPH, Seattle, Wash Kathryn M. Rexrode, MD, MPH, Boston, Mass Mohammed F. Saad, MD, Smithtown, NY Mary E. Tinetti, MD, New Haven, Conn Jack Zwanziger, PhD, MBA, Chicago, Ill


Offices: 515 N State St, Chicago, IL 60610

Catherine D. DeAngelis, MD, MPH Editor in Chief Scientific Publications & Multimedia Applications Cheryl Iverson: Managing Editor


Department Director: Paula Glitman Manuscript Editing Manager: Lauren B. Fischer Senior Manuscript Editors: Dee E. Egger, John McFadden, Donald S. Smith Manuscript Editor: Karen L. Boyd Freelance Manuscript Editing Manager: Diane L. Cannon Freelance Manuscript Editing Coordinators: Cheryl Tobey Davidow, Vickey Golden, Connie Manno Freelance Copy Editors and Copyreaders: Catherine A. Alden, Lisa M. Cluver, Mary Coerver-Connolly, Allison Esposito, GeorgeMary Gardner, Robin Husayko, Laura King, Mary A. Kingzette, Nicole C. Netter, Beena Rao, Caroline Woods Editorial Systems Managers: Paul Frank, Monica Mungle Systems Programmer/Internet Specialist: J.D. Neff Editorial Assistant: Wanda Hill


Executive Assistant to the Editor: Marla A. Hall


Director: Margaret Winker, MD Electronic Media Department Director: Michelle Kurzynski Associate Web Editors: Christopher Hastings, Peter Kim Web Administrative Assistant: Reuben Rios


Senior VP & Publisher: Robert A. Musacchio, PhD


Division Director: Jeffery J. Bonistalli Staff: Anna Goins Manager: Kathy Russell Staff: Mirna Monal, Debra Ann Sardo Sales Representatives: Peter G. Messina, Patricia Quilty Assistant Publisher, Classified Advertising/Circulation Promotion: Geoffrey Flick Manager: Thalia Moss Staff: Kim Jenkins, Libby Larson, Sophie Levandoski Director, Marketing Support Services: Mark Thornbury Staff: Nancy Bell, Terri Hanley, Tricia Leonardis, Dennis Sammartino Director, Reprints: Mark Kuhns Staff: Susan Lovenberg


Division Director: Richard Newman Director, Electronic Licensing & Permissions:  Norman Frankel, PhD Staff: Rhonda Bailey Brown Circulation Sales & MarketingManager: Vida Damijonaitis Staff: Saskia Bolore, Rebecca Haas, Christine Hearne, Sara Nicholson, Jeremy Nielsen Director, International Business: Michael T. Clarke Staff: Millette Jackson-Bates


Division Director: Vanessa Hayden Directors: Karen Adams-Taylor, Sue Sherrill Managers: David Antos, Karen Branham, Suzanne J. Bukovsky, Debbie Camp, Susan Chiara, Diane Darnell, Susana Eloy de Vitale, Karl Elvin, Mary Ellen Johnston, Michael McGraw, Chris Meyer, Phil O'Leary, Susan Price, Alfred Tomaselli, Stacy Tucker Advertising and Production Services: Karen Allbright, Mary Anne Donley, Euwanaha Joiner-Smith, Brian McCartney, Sean O'Donnell, Noemi Olmo, Mercy Oni, Ryan Patella, Carole Piszker, Cindy Rendlen, Denise Steinhauser, Ellen Yoshihara Circulation Processing: Bernadette Bauer, Julie Burton, Michael Deegan, Rosa Eng, Donovan Hanson, Felicia Kyles, Lawrence Majkszak, Kathryn Osten Composition and New Media: Gail Barrett, Regina Brownlee, Brenda Chandler-Grayer, Scott Curl, Amy Evers, Teri Hutchison, Angela Kim, Mary Ann Kuranda, Patricia E. Panek, Ted Piwowar, La'son Diggs Sledge, George Thomson Graphics: Joe Amft, Fred Furtner, Carolyn Hall, Maria Kowalkowski, JoAnne Weiskopf Proofreading: Carol Joy Farrell, Daniel James, Judith A. Literskis, Teresa H. Omiotek, Barbara Wojtowicz, Agnes A. Zarkadas


Michael D. Maves, MD, MBA, Executive Vice President, Chief Executive Officer Bernard L. Hengesbaugh, Chief Operating Officer Robert A. Musacchio, PhD, Senior Vice President, Publishing & Business Services

All articles published, including editorials, letters, and book reviews, represent the opinions of the authors and do not reflect the policy of the American Medical Association, the Editorial Board, or the institution with which the author is affiliated, unless this is clearly specified.

Copyright 2007 by the American Medical Association. All rights reserved. Reproduction without permission is prohibited.





Also Meets CME requirements for:
Browse CME for all U.S. States
Accreditation Information
The American Medical Association is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians. The AMA designates this journal-based CME activity for a maximum of 1 AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM per course. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity. Physicians who complete the CME course and score at least 80% correct on the quiz are eligible for AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM.
Note: You must get at least of the answers correct to pass this quiz.
Please click the checkbox indicating that you have read the full article in order to submit your answers.
Your answers have been saved for later.
You have not filled in all the answers to complete this quiz
The following questions were not answered:
Sorry, you have unsuccessfully completed this CME quiz with a score of
The following questions were not answered correctly:
Commitment to Change (optional):
Indicate what change(s) you will implement in your practice, if any, based on this CME course.
Your quiz results:
The filled radio buttons indicate your responses. The preferred responses are highlighted
For CME Course: A Proposed Model for Initial Assessment and Management of Acute Heart Failure Syndromes
Indicate what changes(s) you will implement in your practice, if any, based on this CME course.


Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

0 Citations

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging & repositioning the boxes below.